Our Daily Coffee Give Us Today with Bread

There are hard breads, soft ones, sour ones, sweet ones, salty ones, while some are white, black, red, large, small, square, round, flat, braided, light, heavy, dry, wet… and it is believed we humans have eaten bread since more than 8000 years. But I always had too much respect (or was too afraid) and did not dare to bake my own. Baking for me meant always a level of perfection, thinking one needs perfectly balanced quantities to be able to get it right. I thought one is not allowed to open the door of the oven until the bread is ready and that experiments are simply not possible. But I am used to being spontaneous when cooking, or when I sit at the piano, or as I prefer doing it in life in general. Well, 3 years ago I started baking and since then have rarely eaten any bread from a store.

Today I baked one with huckleberries.

Huckleberries

.

salt and huckleberries

.

Flour with ingredients for bread with coffee and huckleberries

.

  • 500 g flour
  • one spoon huckleberries (dry)
  • 10 g salt
  • 7 g finely ground coffee
  • 7 spoons olive oil
  • 10 g fresh yeast
  • about 330 ml warm water
  • about 3 spoons sunflower seeds (toasted)

Firstly I toasted the sunflower seeds in a pan and mixed the salt and the huckleberries in the mortar just a bit, just enough to destroy the huckleberries. Afterwards I mixed the flour, coffee, olive oil, yeast, huckleberries and salt with the toasted sunflower seeds and added just the right amount of water to make the dough to the right consitency. After kneading the dough let it rest for about an hour, before kneading once more and letting it rest another hour until it raises sufficiently. Bake it in the oven at 180° degrees 30 minutes covered, then uncover it and bake another 15 minutes.

.

...finally, the daily coffee bread

.

I already had some and am very, very pleased…

Enjoy your daily coffee bread!

.

Leave a Reply

