TGRWT #21 / Coated Peanut Crunchies with Sage

Peanut coated in Sage and Coffee / tgrwt#21

First of all I thank Martin Lersch for helping to bring this taste to my palate and mind with his series “they-go-really-well-together” at khymos. For me, when composing food and contemplating a new and yet unimaginable combination, first the mind must agree with it. If the combination of the ingredients is agreeable in mind, usually it will also work in the mouth. The combination of sage and peanuts would have most likely never entered my realm of  thoughts, due to the fact that peanuts were always a fairly boring topic in my mind. Yes, I do love good peanut butter (in a milk shake with vanilla, cinnamon and honey) very much, I also love crackers with it, or toasted bread topped with peanut butter and then with some honey. But this ingredient had never crossed my mind as part of the things I like putting in my mortar. And since in the cuban kitchen it plays no role whatsoever, peanuts where just peanuts. Until now.

One of the blessings a person with allergies has, is that fire does not only burn, but it roasts. Peanuts are one of the most common causes for allergic reactions in the world. Since the 1990’s I do have some allergies, but had never known that peanuts could be so mean, until I read about it a year ago during my experiments with nuts and seeds. Since two weeks I know, why I did not know it before. I could not resist putting several peanuts in my mouth while playing around and preparing for this TGRWT, not imagining that this was the very first time I ate them unroasted. My stomach and mouth protested soon enough. But luckily we are dealing here now with roasted Peanuts.

unroasted peanuts

Interestingly enough the typical taste of sage, which for me has a very strong connection with some raw fish, has some similarity with the taste of the thin peanut coats. These coats – now that I remember – where always for me a fine taste interception when eating peanuts out of their shells earlier. Their taste was always a welcomed extra to the usual buttery and nutty peanut taste, so I always chewed them with the peanuts, although I saw that most people threw the coats away.

Especially when dealing with cooking and drinking, I usually include coffee in some manner. Thus it will be of no surprise to my readers that sage and roasted peanuts do not go at it alone. Not possible here! One of my first ideas was to use peanuts for one of my nut-coffee-snacks. And I must say, the first try was quite pleasing. More will come, for sure…

My suggestion:

  • 2 cups of raw peanuts
  • 1 cup of sage leaves
  • 1 1/2 spoon olive oil
  • 3 spoons of muscovado sugar
  • 2 spoons of mocca coffee powder
  • 1 egg white

Get rid of the thin peanut coats and divide the peanuts in 2. This way they roast more evenly. Mix them with the olive oil and put them in a flat form in the oven at 200°C for at least 15 minutes. Keep an eye on it and do to not let them get brown. It should be just a light tan.

Prepare the leaves, chopped, and mix them with the coffee, the sugar and the egg white.

As soon as the peanuts are ready, take them out and dip them in the egg bath, mixing them thoroughly and returning the mixture to pan and into the oven for another 15 minutes or more. Just check that it is dry, but not too toasted. The colour of the mixture could fool you.

*

This is one snack for the so called epicurians. That means, it is not for those watching TV and eating snacks, without noticing what they are eating. The first taste in the mouth every single time was the sugar. Needless to say, peanuts develop their best taste when chewed completely and that is the taste that disperses soon with the sugar, before the sage comes into play. The best thing for me was to experience once more where different tastes take place. The tip of the tongue is not as able as I thought, while the palate – this rich roof of the mouth – got like a light shower of sage.

I think, I will do this often.

And if you wish to find out about the complete turnout of the TGRWT and some of the various results, just visit Humbling Attempts.

°

Leave a Reply

